maybe I should take up a video game

I was addicted to the first version of Super Mario Brothers (on the original Nintendo system — circa 1985). I had Super Mario dreams. I had Super Mario game controller repetitive stress aches in my hands and forearms. Months went by. I saved the princess. I only played the game a handful of times after that.

Super Mario 2 was weird. I made a half-hearted attempt to enjoy this game, but I was ultimately disappointed with it. Super Mario 3 was a new addiction. I don’t think I ever saved the princess, but I tried for months on end.

PGA Tour Golf was my next game obsession. It permitted up to 4 players and no one player monopolized big chunks of time. This was a better fit for my social life at the time, which usually consisted of the same half-dozen friends sitting around getting drunk and/or stoned about 5 or 6 nights every week.

Fast forward 10 years, and I haven’t played a video game in longer than I can remember. I sold the my Sega system about 6 years ago at a yard sale. I played Myst and Riven with Marlin a few times over the years, but I was never bitten by the gamer bug during those adventures.

So at the risk of getting sucked into another game, I’m contemplating the purchase of Wes Craven’s Undying. It sounds like an intriguing mix of action, adventure and problem solving. And I’ve got a new laptop with vacation travel fast approaching. Hmmmm. [link via the newish blueish Lots of Co.]

3 thoughts on “maybe I should take up a video game

  1. Steve says:

    Hey Ron, Gamespot’s official review is up now here.

    ..and they give it a 9.1, which is pretty kick-ass.

    About Super Mario.. I *loved* the Super Mario 2 because it was so whimsical and weird. I wasn’t a big fan of Super Mario 3. If you like the first one, you can get it for Gameboy Color now.

  2. admin says:

    I still liked the first Super Mario Bros. best of all. I think I’ll pick up a copy of Undying this week (if I can find one … if it’s that well-rated, might it be hard to find at first?)

  3. T.L. Higgins says:

    ANYTHING Super Mario is fantastic!! I don’t have a computer — have this WEBTV. (It’s the “Internet on training wheels.”) But I DO have six consoles and two hand-helds, so maybe I qualify to give an informed opinion. :) Take care!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

